Eugene R. Worth


Eugene R. Worth


Medical Director, Hyperbaric Medicine, Dixie Regional Medical Center, St George, Utah

Dr Eugene Worth is the Medical Director for Hyperbaric Medicine at Dixie Regional Medical Center in St George, Utah. Dr Worth received his A.B. and MD degrees from the University of Missouri-Columbia, in Columbia Missouri. He then completed his internship and residency in Anesthesiology at the University of Missouri-Columbia Hospital and Clinics. Dr. Worth is a board-certified Anesthesiologist with 13+ years in private and academic practices. His subspecialty area was cardiac and major vascular anesthesia including heart transplantation. He has practiced wound care and hyperbaric medicine since 2002 and is subspecialty board-certified in Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine.

Dr. Worth completed a 3-year NIH-sponsored medical informatics fellowship (1994 – 1997) at the University of Missouri-Columbia. His Masters Degree is in Education, with an emphasis in curriculum and instruction and educational technology. His research involved using electronic mail discussion groups as “virtual colleagues” that enhanced information transfer to clinical practice.

During 1997-2004, he was President and Owner of Medical Information Technologies, Inc., where he created CMETracker©, a freeware database written in Microsoft Access for keeping track of continuing medical education. He served 5 years on the UHMS Education Committee.

In April 2006 he became a Wound Care and Hyperbaric Physician at the Utah Valley Regional Medical Center, Provo, Utah. He became the corporate physician lead at Intermountain Healthcare for the Hyperbaric Development Team. In 2013 he became the Medical Director of Hyperbaric Medicine at Dixie Regional Medical Center in St George, Utah.

He is a recreational diver and a NOAA Diving Medical Officer. He has 30+ scientific publications, including two book chapters. He has given numerous presentations in anesthesiology, medical informatics, hyperbaric medicine and diving medicine.

Honors and awards include:

  • Russell D. Sheldon Anesthesiology Award (Medical School) (1978)
  • Robert D. Dripps, MD Memorial Award (Residency) (1983)
  • Golden Apple Teaching Award (1996, 2000, 2001 )
  • Excellence in Medical Education Award (1998, 1999, 2001, 2004)
  • Medical Student Affairs Council, Excellence in Education Award (2000)
  • Margaret Sullivan Teaching Award (May, 2001)
  • Charter Member, Order of Socrates (2001) [A medical education society of master teachers at the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine.]

FABA = Fellow of the American Board of Anesthesiology

UHM/ABPM = Sub-specialty certified in Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine by the American Board of Preventive Medicine.